My Experience Being a Backend Developer Intern at Telkom Indonesia

August 30, 2024 (3w ago)

Untitled

The roller coaster

It's been a fun rollercoaster ride being an intern at Digital Amoeba as part of the AMATech team. The facilities provided at Telkom are a-m-a-z-i-n-g, I'm spelling it out loud for you guys XD. Starting from the wifi (which one of our DevOps team members used to connect to their Orange Pi on Day 1 that we eventually used for our Minecraft server XD please don't be mad Telkom 😅). There's also the Telkom Sportainment which includes facilities such as a gym, tennis, basketball, futsal, and badminton courts, table tennis tables, billiard tables, and lastly, a shooting range, and a music studio (the last two of which unfortunately we weren't able to try out 😢). The one facility I used the most was the billiard table. I used to play pool almost every day after work, decimating everyone I played against (even some actual employees XD, they're the pros though). My win rate is probably 90% at 8-ball pool, so feel free to challenge me, muahahaha (I'm actually a noob). There's also a coffee machine, so we practiced being barista interns by brewing delicious Cappuccinos and Americanos.

Untitled

The work

Oh yea, work itself is very fun. I get to meet talented developers from all across Indonesia. We worked using CodeIgniter, Laravel, jQuery, Bootstrap, MySQL, etc. The project also uses Scrum and Agile, with our dedicated Product Owners and Scrum Master handling everything. This gave me insight into real-world and live projects used by big companies. Some of the projects that we worked on are used for companies such as Bank Mandiri and Bank BNI gasp emoji.

Untitled

The friends we made along the way

The mentors and friends I've made were all awesome people. Very talented, we're basically the top 1% of developers in Indonesia (or at least I hope we were 🙂). I can't get enough of it, we would joke and play around in the office a lot (of course after all the work is done ;)). I even bought my guitar a few times in the office and guess what, many of my friends can play instruments as well XD. We would do duets and karaoke in the office (we were on the topmost floor of the office, so we didn't disturb anyone... I think).

Untitled

The end is just the beginning

We ended everything after the offboarding. I even get to perform in the offboarding even as a bassist in our band, which by the way was only formed recently and we had a total of 2 hours of practice gasp emoji again. But we played flawlessly (kinda lol, who cares, we were having fun) at the event. We were simply too good, I wish we could play again but well, that was our first and last performance. Good things never last forever they say, and so neither does my internship in Telkom. And we ended things with a sleepover at a villa for the whole team. That event in itself is just as memorable, maybe even the most memorable.

Untitled

Cue, See You Again by Wiz Khalifa

And that's about it folks. Not only did we learn how to become a great software engineer, but we also became pool players and baristas XD. I highly recommend getting an internship at Telkom, heck just skip that and get a job there (I know I would). If I could rate my experience there, I'd give it a 9/10. Minus one point because it ended too soon 😢😊.

That's it, thanks for reading. See you in my next post 👋